The lost land and city of Doggerland….

From the History Guild link below

My very first memory of Dogger was as a child hearing it mentioned on the BBC shipping forecast. (There’s a sample here – ah, memories.) Back then I had no idea what/where Dogger was, except that ships sailed there.

Since then I’ve heard it spoken of as Doggerland when it comes to the land bridge that is believed to have once existed that connected Britain to the continent of Europe.

From History Guild

What I still hadn’t heard was that there might also have been a city that was submerged 8,000 years ago. See here and here

Well, I suppose no one can state definitively that there was such a city, but certainly there was land that to this day still sports the remains of trees and possibly an ancient boatbuilding site too. See here.

Britain isn’t the only place in the world to have sunken lands, but we certainly possess a few good examples. No wonder we also have great legends such as the lost city of Dunwich and the lost land of Lyonesse.

Tristan and Isolde by John Duncan

 

2 comments

  1. Viscountessw, Doggerland fascinates me! I came across this curious prehistoric event the first time on Pete Kelly wonderful film (youtube, see link below) from around 2020, I’ve probably watched it half a dozen times already I’m that intrigued! It was also an entirely new topic for me – Neil Oliver has also covered this more recently in his series of Love Letters to the UK (interesting variation and perspective from Pete’s which of course it would be) – what I wish one of these esteemed gentlemen would have done would be feature Lyonesse with more depth! It can’t always be about seismic forces! Feel like taking that on?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m as fascinated as you, I promise, and if I come across anything of interest about Lyonesse you may be sure I’ll be writing about it! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.