murreyandblue

A great WordPress.com site

A mysterious Early Modern marriage

It happened in Fontainebleau on this day in 1539. The groom was Cibaud de Tivoley, Seigneur de Brenieu, and the bride was described as “Marguerite de la Pole – Suffolk”. Two of the guests were Eleanor of Austria, wife of Francois I, and Gabriel, Marchesse di Saluzzo, both of whom were cousins of Lord Richard de la Pole. It is highly unlikely that Marguerite, who was named after her patroness the Queen of Navarre who was Henri IV’s grandmother and Francois’ sister, asserted her own paternity as her age may testify.

If Marguerite was Lord Richard’s daughter then she must have been born by Christmas 1525 because he was killed ten months earlier at Pavia, where Francois was captured. She could not have been much older than that because the couple had at least six children before his death in 1562 and lived on to 1599. These include Pierre (k. St. Denis 1567) and Claude (k. Ivry 1590), who were casualties of The French Wars of Religion

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “A mysterious Early Modern marriage

  1. Sara Nur on said:

    I’m repeatedly amazed by the quality and quantity of information in this site!

    I’ve been a Ricardian since my twenties, but I’m ashamed to say that I never knew his grave was missing (I’m American, so that should explain quite a bit.) I never found anybody who shared my interest, and since knowledge breeds questions, I had few.

    I am so very grateful for what has come to be my continuing education – not only about Richard, but so much more. Thank you all!

    Like

Leave a Reply

