murreyandblue

A great WordPress.com site

Song for the Denialists

He can rule the North well, and give justice to all,

Win over Lancastrians,

The great and the small,

Folk claim he was good, but I just do not see,

Though saintly in novels,  he’s always a villain to me.

They can talk all they like of his wonderful laws,

He murdered the Princes, without any cause,

And Eleanor Talbot, she didn’t exist,

The tale of her marriage is clearly a twist

Though saintly in novels,  he’s always a villain to me.

(Chorus)

Oh, I believe Thomas More,

He was always so right,

Never told a tall tale.

Oh, so is Alison Weir.

The Ricardians can’t win,

They can’t change my closed mind.

 

They can talk all they like of his wonderful laws,

He murdered the Princes, without any cause,

And Eleanor Talbot, she didn’t exist,

The tale of her marriage is clearly a twist

Though saintly in novels,  he’s always a villain to me.

(Chorus)

I love all the Tudors, they help pay the rent,

But when we discuss them I’ll brook no dissent,

For freedom of speech applies only to me,

And not to Ricardians unless they agree,

Though saintly in novels, he’s always a villain to me.

(Chorus)

If I could be with them, there back in the day,

I’d be Lady Rivers if I had my way,

Maybe I was her in a previous life,

Would help to explain why I give Richard strife,

Though saintly in novels,  he’s always a villain to me.

(Chorus)

Some say that the bones in the Abbey are toys,

That you can’t even tell if they’re girls or they’re boys,

But the truth of matter stands plainly to see,

Dick buried them deep with a big JCB,

Though saintly in novels,  he’s always a villain to me.

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Song for the Denialists

  1. viscountessw on said:

    Love it!

    Like

  2. Barbara Toner on said:

    HA! Very clever & SO funny!

    Like

  3. Brilliant!

    Like

Leave a Reply

